Behind-the-Wheel

To complete the Virginia DMV requirements, you must be behind-the-wheel 7-50 minute sessions and observe another driver for 7-50 minute sessions for a total of 14-50 minute sessions of In-Car education if you are under 18 years old. We are certified by the DMV to administer the “Road Test” for all ages. If you are under 18 years old, please obtain your Classroom Completion Card (DEC-1 card) from your High School and bring it with you to your first behind-the-wheel lesson along with your learner’s permit.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 for appointments, Payments, whether public school student or a private student, must be made in full before any Behind-the-Wheel classes are scheduled.

$300 – Under 19 years old, Behind-the-Wheel Only (14-50 minute sessions, 7 sessions Behind-the-Wheel, 7 sessions observation)

$105 – Roanoke City Public School Students

$200.00 – Wise County Public Schools

$250.00 – Radford City Public Schools

Prepaid – Wythe County Public Schools

$1400 – 45 Hour log required by the State of Virginia, under 18 years old

Behind-The-Wheel Registration Instructions:  Please CLICK HERE for instructions on how to register before you click the “REGISTER NOW” button below.

REGISTER NOW!

Driver Education

A formal class that prepares a new driver to obtain a learner’s permit or driver’s license. Topics of instruction include traffic code or laws and vehicle operation. Instruction will warn of dangerous conditions in driving such as road conditions, driver impairments, and hazardous weather. Instructional videos will be shown, demonstrating proper driving strategies and the consequences for not observing the rules. 36 sessions in the classroom and 14 sessions In-Car.

36-50 minute periods of Classroom Education.
Tuesday and Thursday 5:00 — 8:30 pm OR Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 5:00 — 7:00 pm depending on class schedule.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$400 – For Virginia residents, 7 sessions of Behind-the-Wheel, and 7 sessions of observation, Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel Instruction (50-50 min. periods).

$335 – Classroom Only, in-person (36-50 min. periods)

Click here to see our schedule!

  • 12/04/2017 - 01/03/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 02/05/2018 - 02/28/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 04/02/2018 - 04/25/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 06/04/2018 - 06/27/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 07/02/2018 - 07/30/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 08/06/2018 - 08/29/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 10/01/2018 - 10/24/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!
  • 11/28/2018 - 12/31/2018
    Bristol location, sign up now, and reserve your seat!

REGISTER NOW!

Online Driver Education Class

Coming Soon!

Driver Improvement Class

Volunteer, DMV or Court appointed course

$85Virginia Driver Improvement Course (8 hrs), this course is appropriate for all licensed drivers who received a ticket in Virginia, a letter from the DMV or would like to improve their positive driving points.

  • Students will receive a certificate at the end of their class.
  • We will electronically submit your completion to the DMV immediately after the class at no additional charge.

$85 – Tennessee Driver Improvement Course (8 hrs), this course is appropriate for all licensed drivers who received  a letter from the Tennessee DOS or would like to increase their positive driving points.

  • Students will receive a certificate at the end of their class.

$65Tennessee Driver Improvement (4 hrs), this course is for all licensed drivers who received a ticket in Tennessee

  • Students will receive a certificate at the end of their class.

Click here to see our schedule!

  • 12/16/2017 09:00 am - 05:30 pm
    Saturday
  • 12/28/2017 09:00 am - 05:30 pm
    Thursday

REGISTER NOW!

Re- Examination Class

If you have failed the learner’s permit or renewal test three times, and you are under 18 years old, you are required by the DMV to take this 36 session course for the the privilege of retaking the test. Once you take the class you will be able to take the test unlimited times until you pass it. If you can provide a DEC-1 card (classroom completion) you are eligible to take the 8 hour Manual class instead.

Tuesday and Thursday 5:00 — 8:30 pm OR Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 5:00 — 7:00 pm depending on class schedule.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$310 – Classroom Only, in-person (36-50 min. sessions)

Click here to see our schedule!

Currently we have no classes.

REGISTER NOW!

Manual Course Class

If you have failed the learner’s permit or renewal test three times, and you are over 18 years old, you are required by the DMV to take this 8 hour course for the the privilege of retaking the test. Once you take the class you will be able to take the test unlimited times until you pass it. If you are under 18 years old and can provide a DEC-1 card ( classroom completion) you will be eligible to take the Manual Course Class.

Tuesday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm depending on class schedule.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$100 – Classroom Only, in-person (8 hour course)

Currently we have no classes.

REGISTER NOW!

 

Virginia Escort Vehicle Driver Certification

Formal training and certification is required for drivers who provide escort services for over-dimensional movements. The purpose of this course is to provide information, including rules and regulations, legal requirements, safety suggestions and reminders that should be helpful to those who conduct escort operations on the highways of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Saturday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm depending on class schedule.

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$175 – Classroom Only, in-person (8 hour course)

Currently we have no classes.

REGISTER NOW!

Driver Improvement Vendor (Train–the –Trainer)

The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has created a Driver Improvement Program which rewards safe drivers and warns potentially unsafe drivers in advance. It helps educate drivers who have developed risky driving practices and it takes dangerous drivers off the road.

Driver Training Inc. offers a 2 day 16-hour course, train-the-trainer, which would certify the individual instructor for three years.

The course includes: All necessary materials, driver manual, instructor manual, snacks and beverages.

During the year of certification Driver Training Inc. will provide you with 6 month updates of all provided information.

Friday and Saturday, 9:00 am – 5:30 pm depending on class schedule

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$750 – Classroom Only, in-person (16-hour course)

Manual Course Vendor (Train–the –Trainer)

A Driver’s Manual course is available for adults age 18 and older who have failed the knowledge test three times. The train-the-trainer program consists of an 8-hour classroom course based on the Virginia Driver’s Manual. The course is designed to better prepare individuals for the test at DMV. Driver Training Inc. offers an 8-hour course which would certify the individual instructor for one year.

The course includes: All necessary materials, driver manual, instructor manual, snacks and beverages.

During the year of certification Driver Training Inc. will provide you with 6 months updates of all provided information.

Thursday 9:00 am – 5:30 pm depending on class schedule

Please, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule.

$350 – Classroom Only, in-person (8-hour course), $100 – Annual renewal

Comprehensive Driving Program, Gain Independence in Driving and Community Mobility

If an illness or injury has left you unable to drive, the Comprehensive Driving Program at Driver Training Inc. will help you get back on the road. Driving and Community Mobility is one of the primary ways to regain lost independence.

Illness or injuries that can cause driving impairment include:

  • Stroke
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Spinal Cord Injury
  • Amputations
  • Orthopedic Injuries
  • Dementia /Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Other Chronic Health Issues

The Comprehensive Driving Program assesses a client’s physical, visual/perceptual and cognitive abilities needed for safe diving. The driving evaluation requires the scheduling of two consecutive appointments. The first appointment is for the in-clinic evaluation and the second appointment, when appropriate, is for the on the road evaluation. The evaluation will be performed by a Certified Driver Rehabilitation Specialist (CDRS) who will provide the client with recommendations at the conclusions of all needed assessments.

Education and training may be recommended to assist clients to become independent drivers. The training may be directed toward learning to operate adaptive equipment, correcting bad driving habits or vehicle consultation for appropriate fit for client’s use. If driving is no longer recommended, the program can assist clients and their family in planning for alternative transportation options.

In order to participate in the program, the client must obtain a doctor’s referral for OT evaluation/Driver’s Training and have a valid driver’s license/permit.The client also must be seizure free or free of lapses of consciousness due to epilepsy, cardiac syncope, diabetes, or other conditions based on requirements of licensing by the State of Tennessee Department of Safety. The program is not covered by insurance. Cost estimations can be provided by not guaranteed as the cost will vary based on each client’s needs.

$500 – Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel instruction, all ages (30-60 min. periods)

$375 – Assessment, all ages. The driving evaluation requires the scheduling of two consecutive appointments

Pleas, call (276) 644-1845 to confirm class schedule

REGISTER NOW!